The Character and Goals of MSU

At Michigan State University excellence is a continuing tradition. MSU is a research intensive, land-grant university where people matter. The University is dedicated to educating tomorrow’s leaders and scholars. Innovative and hard-working, MSU advances knowledge and transforms lives, extending learning to actively serve Michigan, the Nation and the international community.

Our core values and mission remain guided by and grounded in our land-grant history. This is reflected in our ongoing commitment to:

  • Quality: Dedicating ourselves to achieving excellence in all of our endeavors – good enough for the proudest and recognized among the best

  • Inclusiveness: Providing opportunity for learners from all backgrounds – bringing their passion and talent to join a vibrant, intellectual community built on mutual respect – to experience and to multiply the benefits of the power of knowledge throughout their lives

  • Connectivity: Among one another, among academic enterprises, to society and to those we serve – locally, nationally, and globally.
For the complete University Mission statement refer to

Dianne Byrum, Chair
Onondaga Township
Term ends January 1, 2025

Dan Kelly, Vice Chair
Term ends January 1, 2025

Melanie Foster
East Lansing
Term ends January 1, 2023

Renee Knake Jefferson
East Lansing
Term ends January 1, 2023

Pat O'Keefe
Term ends January 1, 2029

Brianna T. Scott
Term ends January 1, 2027

Kelly Tebay
Term ends January 1, 2027

Rema Vassar
Term ends January 1, 2029

Samuel L. Stanley, Jr.
President, Ex Officio

Samuel L. Stanley, Jr.,

Teresa K. Woodruff,
Provost and Executive Vice President for Academic Affairs

Merri Jo Bales,
Vice President and Strategic Director of University Communications

Norman J. Beauchamp Jr.,
Executive Vice President for Health Sciences

Bill Beekman,
Vice President of Strategic Initiatives

Jabbar R. Bennett,
Vice President and Chief Diversity Officer

Dan Bollman,
Vice President for Strategic Infrastructure

Lisa A. Frace,
Senior Vice President, Chief Financial Officer and Treasurer

Vennie Gore,
Senior Vice President for Student Life & Engagment

Emily Gerkin Guerrant,
Vice President and University Spokesperson

Alan Haller,
Vice President and Director of Intercollegiate Athletics

Marti Heil,
Vice President for University Advancement

Marlon C. Lynch,
Vice President for Public Safety and Chief of Police

Brian Quinn,
Vice President for Legal Affairs and General Counsel

Heather C. Swain,
Vice President for Marketing, Public Relations and Digital Strategy

Kathleen M. Wilbur,
Senior Vice President for Government Relations

Melissa Woo,
Executive Vice President for Administration and Chief Information Officer

Phil Zecher,
Chief Investment Officer

Michael Zeig,
Chief of Staff to the President